Downtown Milford Inc. held its annual membership meeting Nov. 1 at the Georgia House in Milford.

Members, the board of directors and guests were treated to an evening that included the election of new board officers, continuing and new board members and individuals being honored for their contribution to DMI throughout the years.

The board meeting was opened by board President Sara Pletcher, who thanked the board and volunteers for their dedicated service to DMI. Pletcher provided an annual report on DMI’s progress and financial health. Highlights included DMI’s new strategic plan and accomplishments achieved by each committee.

DMI volunteers and sponsors are an essential part of the organization’s success in planning and holding special events such as the Santa House, the Holiday Stroll, Shop Small Saturday, Bug & Bud Festival and The Ladybug Festival. DMI volunteers logged in 4,609.5 hours valued at $106,018.50, and sponsors donated more than $38,000. In addition, an estimated $20,000 in-kind services were received from local businesses. The full annual report can be found at

After Pletcher’s presentation, the 2018-19 DMI board was announced. Those returning officers elected were Pletcher, of Zephyr Conferences; Vice President Peggy Reilly, retired; Secretary Pat Sparks, retired; and Treasurer Robert Starkey, of Starkey & Company. Current board members elected to a second two-year term were Lang Redden, of Archology Architecture & Design Services; and Dave Pickrell, of Gallery 37. Current board member Sher Valenzuela, of First State Manufacturing, was elected to her first full two-year term.

New board members elected were Cat Perfetti, co-owner of Delaware Branding Co.; Denise Morris, co-owner of The Bank House B&B; Jason Peel, director of human resources and school climate for the Milford School District; and Kelly Turner, a realtor with Masten Realty. Continuing board members include Tod Van Eyken, of Boys & Girls Club of Milford, and Matt Babbitt, of Abbott’s Mill Nature Center.

Thanks were given to outgoing board members Paige Evers and Walt Hepford for their contributions to the Organization Committee and Economic Vitality Committee, respectively. Outgoing Design Committee Chair Milly Pedersen and outgoing Farmers Market Master Dave Verkade were also honored for their years of dedicated service. Each received a plaque highlighting their accomplishments and service to DMI.

A social hour occurred after the business meeting allowing members and guests to reminisce about the past year and discuss the new plans for the future.

For more, call 839-1180.