Department of Natural Resources and Environmental Control Secretary Shawn M. Garvin announced members of the Coastal Zone Conversion Permit Regulatory Advisory Committee and the committee’s chair.

The Regulatory Advisory Committee will provide guidance and feedback to DNREC on development of Coastal Zone regulations that are required to be in place for issuance of conversion permits by Oct. 1, 2019.

The committee’s first meeting is scheduled for 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. June 14 at the American Birding Association Headquarters, 93 Clinton St., Suite ABA, Delaware City. Committee meetings are open to the public.

Committee members have diverse backgrounds, experiences and perspectives related to Delaware’s Coastal Zone that will guide DNREC in developing this new permitting program. Representatives come from environmental organizations, business and industry, affected communities, technical fields, public health and other backgrounds.

The Coastal Zone Conversion Permit Regulatory Advisory Committee will be chaired by Justice Randy J. Holland. Holland was appointed to the Delaware Supreme Court in 1986, when, at 39 years old, he became the youngest person to be appointed to the Court. He retired from the Supreme Court in March 2017 after serving for over 30 years. Recognized as an expert on corporation law, corporate governance, appellate practice and state constitutional law, Holland has written more than 700 reported opinions, which include many seminal corporate law decisions. Holland has written, co-authored or edited nine books and also published law review articles, primarily focused on corporate law, judicial ethics and legal history. He taught corporate governance, appellate practice and state constitutional law as an adjunct professor. He was recognized as one of the leading influencers on business ethics in the U.S.

Members of the Coastal Zone Conversion Permit Regulatory Advisory Committee are Jennifer Adkins, Partnership for the Delaware Estuary; William Ashe, International Longshoreman’s Association 1694; Neeraj Batta, Batta Environmental; Brenna Goggin, Delaware Nature Society; Michael Hackendorn, Delaware Building and Construction Trades Council; Ron Handy, Boys & Girls Club of Delaware and Route 9 Corridor Coalition; S. Douglas Hokuf, New Castle County; Herb Inden, city of Wilmington; Tim Konkus, Delaware City Marina & Main Street Delaware City Inc.; Awele N. Maduka-Ezeh, Division of Public Health medical director; James Maravelias, AFL-CIO; Eugene McCoy, Council of Civic Organizations of Brandywine Hundred Inc.; Jerry Medd, Pilots' Association for the Bay and River Delaware; Jeffrey Richardson, University of Delaware and Imani Energy; Robert Whetzel, Richards, Layton & Finger Law Firm and Delaware State Chamber of Commerce; Dolores Whilden, resident, Claymont; and Marian Young, Brightfields Inc.

Passed by the general assembly and signed by Gov. John Carney in August 2017, the Coastal Zone Conversion Permit Act allows for permitted industrial construction and operation in 14 existing sites of heavy industry use, and in certain circumstances, permitted bulk product transfer, within Delaware’s Coastal Zone. The act requires DNREC to develop regulations determining how the permitting program will operate and defining specific requirements regarding environmental impact assessments, economic impact assessments, financial assurance and environmental offsets.

DNREC requests that those planning to attend the June Regulatory Advisory Committee meeting notify the Department by emailing or by calling 735-3480.

For more, visit or call 735-3480.