The majority of the candidates for the Milford Board of Education didn’t submit their names until Mar. 1—only two days before today’s 4:30 p.m. deadline.

There are two open seats on the Milford School District Board of Education.

Ronald T. Evans, Michael Firch, Jason M. Miller, Michael McKain and Michael Wells will compete for the same five year term seat.

Judith C. Purcell is running alone in Area D, another five year term seat. If a second candidate doesn’t come forward to challenge Purcell she will win automatically.

They are replacing Vice President Barry Fry and Eugene Rust, whose terms are up this year. They are not running for another term.