The Delaware State Police recommended that safety precautions be taken as the school year starts.

The Delaware State Police recommended that safety precautions be taken as the school year starts.

About 122,000 Delaware children will ride a school bus every day.  

Safety guidelines for parents include:

— Walk children, especially younger children, to the bus stop.

— Make sure the child knows the bus number and what time the bus is scheduled to arrive.

— Arrive early. Children in a rush are less likely to follow safety practices.

— Become familiar with the bus driver.

— Have the transportation director’s contact information in case of questions or problems.

Children are encouraged to:  

— Arrive early at the bus stop.

—Stay alert as they walk to the bus stop and always be aware of their surroundings.

—Know your bus driver and bus number.

—Wait for the bus in a safe place. Avoid horseplay that may cause you to fall into the street.

—Never run to or from the bus.

—When the bus arrives make sure it comes to a complete stop before approaching it.

—Remain seated at all times while the bus is in motion.

—Don't push or shove when getting on or off the bus.

—Always keep your arms and head inside the bus.

—Learn about the "danger zone.” There is a 10-foot wide area on all sides of the bus where the driver cannot see children.

Driver information:

—Slow down and allow time to make adjustments to the new change in your schedule and traffic patterns.

—Drivers traveling in either direction on a two-lane road must stop when a school bus activates its flashing red lights and stop sign or arm.

—Drivers traveling in the same direction as a school bus on a four-lane, divided road must stop for a stopped school bus. Drivers travelling in the opposite direction are not required to stop.

—Delaware law requires vehicles to stop even when the bus is stopped to load/unload students on private property.

—Anyone convicted of passing a stopped school bus can be fined as much as $230 for the first offense, and as much as $575 for the second offense. The individual will also have their license suspended for one to 12 months.

—Watch for children crossing the roads and parking lots to and from the bus or private vehicles.

—Watch speed at all times, especially in school zones.

For information, visit http://dsp.delaware.gov.