Milford-area voters opted to stick with incumbent Republicans in Tuesday's state legislative races.

Voters opted to stick with incumbent Republicans in Tuesday’s Milford-area state legislative races. State Sen. F. Gary Simpson, state Rep. William Outten and state Rep. Harold J. Peterman all won re-election by a comfortable margin.

State Senate

District 18

Incumbent Republican F. Gary Simpson of Milford won a ninth term Tuesday by overcoming a challenge from Democrat Patrick J. Emory, a Lincoln resident and Milford school board member. Simpson received 7,853 votes, or 66.7 percent of the vote, while Emory received 3,917, or 33.3 percent.

State Representative

District 30

Incumbent Republican William Outten, 66, held off a challenge from Democrat and fellow Harrington resident Jonathan Gallo, 37, to win a sixth term as District 30 state Representative. Outten received 3,489 votes, or 65,7 percent of the vote, while Gallo received 1,758 votes, 33.1 percent. Libertarian candidate Gordon Smith received 65 votes, or 1.2 percent of the total.

District 33

Incumbent Republican Jack Peterman of Milford withstood a challenge from Democrat John "Kevin" Robbins of Harrington on Tuesday to win a third term as the District 33 state Representative. Peterman received 3,336 votes, or 57.9 percent, while Robbins pulled in 2,529 votes, or 42.1 percent.