The Sussex County Health Coalition recently celebrated the successes of its partners and honored those partners.

Representatives from the Healthier Sussex County Task Force were on hand July 23 to accept their award for health innovation.

Representatives included Terry M. Murphy, president and chief executive officer of Bayhealth; Jeffrey M. Fried, president and chief executive officer of Beebe Healthcare;

Steven A. Rose, president and chief executive officer of Nanticoke Health Services;

Rosa Rivera, chief operations officer, accepting on behalf of Brian S. Olson, chief executive officer of La Red Health Center.

Additional highlights from the day included a comprehensive overview of the Healthier Sussex County Task Force, delivered by speakers Megan Williams, director of population health at Beebe Healthcare; Pamela J. Marecki, assistant vice president marketing and communications at Bayhealth; Sharon Harrington, director of marketing at Nanticoke Health Services; and Rosa Rivera, chief operations officer at La Red Health Center.

Jay Owens, director of special services for the Indian River School District; and Kim Taylor, the special outreach service coordinator for Indian River School District, gave an update on the progress made in their district, as a result of their involvement with the Sussex County Health Coalition, as a part of the School Based Mental Health Collaborative, funded by the Highmark BluePrint Community Grant.

The meeting ended with a presentation by Allison Karpyn, senior associate director of the University of Delaware at the Center for Research in Education and Social Policy and associate professor in the Department of the Human Development and Family Studies at the University of Delaware. She discussed food security related to current statewide health measures and shared results from an extensive research effort conducted in Delaware during spring and summer of 2016.

For information, contact